Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

jane eyre by charlotte bronte

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

4 out of 5 stars.

Ahhhhh, where to begin? Charlotte Bronte’s infamous novel “Jane Eyre” is truly a classic. Some books are called “classics” but they are nowhere near the epic proportions that Jane Eyre has reached. It is one of those amazing novels that stands (present tense, mind you) the test of time.

In my career as a reader (although not that long), I have not read a book of its equal; Bronte writes in first person, an uncommon writing style for the time (most classics I have read are in the third person) and contains an almost modern theme. It’s edgy (tastefully so) and beautiful and holds your attention from beginning to end.

I have noticed that I do not tend to like the “classics” that most people fawn over; I don’t understand why or how they can ever be called that. Most seem to be a cheap, boring imitation of the novel before, except for Moby Dick, which is just a terrible original (sorry, that is just my opinion). I haven’t read many classics because most of them lack the “it” quality that sticks with you forever; lots of them I just wanted to finish so I could say I read it and be forever rid of it! But Jane Eyre, though a little slow in the beginning and the last fifty pages, was not like that at all. Instead it was beautifully, almost lyrically, written. I would recommend this book to teens because it has a very modern feel, and it holds a certain edge that makes it its own without being bad.

One of the reasons I liked Jane Eyre so much was because of Jane herself. She was smart and spunky, she spoke her mind but was respectful; she always stuck with her convictions even when they would cost her everything. She was brave and the polar opposite of Rochester. Rochester is a truly Byronic character; mood swings that come on so suddenly they leave you shocked as to what caused them. He is shrewd, crude (at times), selfish, unattractive (Jane doesn’t care, though), a liar, a schmooze, manipulative, and pompous. But for some odd reason, I still wanted to find out why he was the way he was. He held this weird quality that both attracts and repulses you; you don’t know whether you hate him or you are in love (in a weird way) with him. At least that is how I felt. Jane Eyre is a great read and a true classic. I recommend it to anyone who loves classic literature and doesn’t mind a darker edge to their books.

One thought on “Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

  1. Reblogged this on Ashley Townsend and commented:
    My baby sis just ADORES the novel Jane Eyre, and I thought that I’d pass along her beautiful review on it. This was kind of my motivation to actually finish it. . . . Yeah, okay, so I’ve never actually finished the book. I started and stopped it seven or eight times when I was younger, but, hey! I was into action and mystery stories, and that flowery, love-dubby stuff just didn’t cut it when I was thirteen. But Katie’s just always been a tad more cultured than me. Thank goodness the apple DOES fall far from the tree sometimes. ^__^

Leave a Reply

