Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

onyx

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

4 out of 5 stars.

Wow, is all I can say! Onyx was a total surprise to me. Sure, I thought Obsidian was okay, but I wasn’t really amazed by it. Obsidian was just not “my” kind of book. But Onyx is a very different story.

Jennifer Armentrout did a fabulous job of turning my hatred of Daemon Black into a begrudging love. I did not want to like him, but Daemon changed so much that by the second half of the book I started to like the dirt-bag, who actually ended up not being such a dirt-bag after all. I also have to give Armentrout credit for adding a lot more excitement to Onyx. Jennifer infused the second half of this novel with a ton of crazy-awesomeness! Yes, I did get over my alien superpower aversion! With all this wonderful suspense and a tinge of romance , I felt like I was immersed in Onyx instead of just reading another book. I felt like I was a part of the story and was somehow connected with the characters. One thing I will say against Onyx is that Katy was kind of annoying. She was too whiny for my taste. I mean, she wasn’t that horribly bad,  but I did not like her in Onyx as much as I did in Obsidian.  She did not ruin the book for me, though, which is good news.

So, with Daemon being nice, Katy being bearable, a new love interest being introduced, and barely any bad language (thank the Lord!), I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed this book. I don’t want to ruin the plot for you so I will give you a quick overview of what happens.

When you finish Obsidian, and are done reading about all the things that Daemon and his alien friends accomplished (like destroying part of a West Virginian forest), the DOD comes to town. Being watched is not a good thing for Katy right now since she has been changed from all her encounters with the aliens. Daemon and Katy soon find out that every moment of her life, since moving next door to the Blacks, has been recorded and documented. Apparently the DOD does not take well to humans coming close to their beloved aliens. After tons of exciting and dangerous things happen, Daemon and Katy discover something about his long dead brother, Dawson.  Is he really dead, or is he just in hiding, and if so, then hiding from what? With the DOD watching their every move, Katy and her friends have to be very careful about who they trust, and who finds out about their little secret. But when information about Katy gets into some unsavory hands, all hell breaks loose. Will Katy and Daemon live to discover a future together? What about Katy’s mom and her new boyfriend? Can she let her mom love someone other than her dad? And what the heck is going on with the DOD and Arum?

Onyx left me excited and eager for Opal, the next Lux novel. Darn it all, I have to wait until December before I can read the next book! Onyx deserves 4 1/2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

