Classic Literature!

 This is where I will post classic literature books that I have read or want to read. This isn’t really a review page, but I will sometimes put quick some-ups of my favorite pieces. I would love it if you commented or if you have recommendations as to which are the best. Thanks!!

This has to be one of my most favorite classic literature pieces! I give it 4 1/2 stars without batting an eyelash. It is written like poetry (in a good way), and is surprisingly “edgy” for the era in which it was produced. This book, I can say in all truth, is a REAL classic.

Pride and Prejudice is another of my favorites. I know, I’m generic! This is my favorite Austen novel, and one of my favorite classic literature books. I think it deserves 4 out of 5 stars.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen is another good piece of literature. It is an enjoyable read, but for me it went a lot slower than others. When they say that a movie is terrible compared to the book, they are lying with this particular story. When it comes to the 2008 BBC version, it makes the book waaay better. There are three one hour episodes in it, and they are just fantastic. I recommend reading the book and watching the movie! I give this Austen book 4 out of 5 stars.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen is another pretty good piece of literature. It is the shortest of Jane Austen’s six novels and, I think, deserves nearly 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend it to those who are just beginning to read classic literature so they can get a hang of the language that was used during that period, and as to not get too bored! Just kidding!

 I have not yet finished Emma for myself, but I have heard from my older sister that Mr. Knightley’s proposal is wonderful. For that alone I give it 3 1/3 out of 5 stars! I will warn you that Emma is probably the driest of all Austen’s novels.

I think that Persuasion by Jane Austen is one of my least favorites. I didn’t like the main girl very much because she always let everyone run over her (I know that is what the story is all about), and I didn’t really get a chance to “get to know” the nice, real Captain Wentworth. I think I need to try reading this book again, because, maybe, I will like it more the second time around. I will say, though, it was the fastest to read next to Pride and Prejudice, and Northanger Abbey.

Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South is another fantastic classic. I loved Thornton in the book as much as I did in the BBC show. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good piece of history as well as a pleasurable read. I give this fantastic book 4 out of 5 stars.

P.S. I haven’t finished it completely yet. Ooops!

I am going to be honest, I don’t remember much about what happened in A Tale of Two Cities. But if you are looking for a good historical read that involves the French Revolution, and you have an odd interest in crazy ladies who like to knit and kill people, then this will be a great book for you. 🙂 I would give it a 3 1/2 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

