Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

obsidian

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

This book review is going to be a bit shorter than the others because I didn’t love Obsidian as much as them. I cannot gush about something I do not love. Now, don’t get me wrong, Jennifer Armentrout is a very good writer, but this book was not my cup of tea /Joe, or whatever you want to say. I would probably give this book 3 out of 5 stars. You’re most likely wondering why. Well, I will start with fact number one: Daemon Black is one of those characters that you L-O-V-E to hate. Mmmhmm, that’s right, the hero of the story is a dirt-wad of annoying-ness. That is one of the reasons I didn’t like this book, all because of him. I normally read books because I fall in love with the hero, but alas, it is not to be in this book. I will, though, give Miss Armentrout credit for creating a good female character. Katy is kind of nerdy (in the “I love books” sense. So like you and me) and has a spunky side. I wasn’t irritated with her, and at times, she even made me laugh.  Number two on my list of dislikes was the language. I am sure it was a lot less than you get in one day at public school, but still it was still irritating. My third and finale complaint was that it left me a little bored. I thought that it could have used more realistic human fighting against human instead of aliens using super powers on each other. And, yes, I know this a book about aliens. I guess I am a traditionalist! Oh, well!

But I did like the fact that Obsidian had a little different kind of alien than the usual little green “man.” I don’t want spoil the story so I will leave what “they” are for you to read about. I also enjoyed Katy and Dee’s, Daemon’s sister, relationship. Dee was so cute and bubbly that it balanced out Katy’s sarcasm. (Ha, sounds like me, and I hadn’t even noticed!) Another interesting dynamic was between Daemon and Katy’s relationship. He likes her but is a jerk, and she likes him but can’t stand him either. It was obviously done better than I am explaining, but on to other matters! The last thing is that I loved to hate Daemon because of how mean he was to Katy, and I loved that I understood why he treated her so meanly. It takes a good author to do that. Although I understood where he was coming from, that doesn’t mean I liked what he did, but it definitely made more sense.

Oops! One last thing I want to say is that I am a fairly picky reader, which I am trying to be better about. Even if I may not have loved this book, you just might love it. If you like some sy-fi, romance, and a good-looking bad boy, this is the book for you! Give it a try, and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

