Fallen Leaves.

“I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.”

–John 12:24

Have you ever taken the time to look outside your window and really LOOK beyond its panes to see the seasons outside? I used to live in Colorado and while living there, I experienced real seasons (where I live now, barely any trees change from green to brown unless there is a new water restriction in place). While I was a kid living there, my most favorite season was fall. There is something that is just breathtaking about trees during that time of the year. Fall is my season, and I really miss the vibrant colors that would take your breath away, the spicy, rich scent of decaying leaves heavy in the newly chilled air. Thinking back on those colors and smells, it makes me think about life and death, and how sometimes the end of something is greater, more beautiful and impacting than its beginning. (Ecclesiastes 7:8)

Today I was just sitting at my computer, wondering to myself, “What could I write about, and what could be important to share with people?” Then the seasons came to mind; there are so many seasons to our lives, good and bad, and I want to encourage you in them. The saying, “When it rains, it pours” is very true, and as my life goes on, I see it more and more for my family’s lives and my own. But it also has to do with perspective, too, and God is still good! He arises to each occasion, and as the trials get harder and harder, God gets stronger and stronger in your life. Seasons make no difference to God, the only difference is whether you give that season of your life up to God, allow Him to fix it the way He (not you) wants to. It is so hard to give them to God, but He has a greater capability than you and me, and He will do an amazing job compared to what we would be able to accomplish by ourselves.

At times when I look outside, I sometimes see Him. I see Him in the waves at the beach, the way they move so surely, so strong and powerfully; they are unwavering. I see Him in the cloudless night, stars shining so bright, all for us to behold and admire His beautiful handiwork. I see Him in the seasons, too, especially fall. The beauty of that season is absolutely amazing to me! The way everything explodes into color, as if it stored all its glory for the end, is just fabulous! The way each leaf seems to have its own breath, leaving a warm, spicy scent in its wake, a smell that remains long after it has died and shriveled away. I think life is the same way. King Solomon wrote that the “end of a thing is better than its beginning”, and now that I really think about it, I have to agree. Look at people in the Bible, how the most impacting people (Jesus for one) were people who laid down their lives for the Call, for God. Sometimes it wasn’t even by dying, but by laying down their lives (giving up what they wanted) for others. Those men and women who laid down their lives are like the fall season in the way that their end was so much more beautiful than their beginning; they shined bright and beautiful in their ends for all to see, all to remember. We, as Christians, are meant to die to ourselves, pick up our cross, and live for Christ, live like those men and women.(Mark 8:34) I’ll be honest; I am really, really bad at it. I like to live for myself; it feels good, but those feelings, I have realized, will not last forever. Who will I be when this life is done? How will I be known? Did I ever really do what I was called to? I guess I won’t know until I meet Him. But while I am here, I need to change, grow into who I was made to be. I don’t know who I am here on earth, but God knows, and He will show me; He can and will show you, too! So, I guess what I am trying to get at is this: we have to lay our desires, ourselves, aside for others for our sunrises to dawn. Jesus died for many, and His sunrise, His dawn will shine for all to see, even those who never wanted to see. It is time we follow His example (me especially) and create, with Him, our own special sunrises. The bigger the better, as long as you do it for and with Him! Are you up for that challenge? How great will your colors be, and who will people see within you? I hope that one day, close or far away, that someone will come to me and say, “I saw Jesus in yours.”

P.S. I like this quote by Charlotte Bronte. We don’t need to be perfect in life, just give it your best try!

“God does not look at the success of the efforts, but at the efforts themselves.”

–Charlotte Bronte

6 thoughts on “Fallen Leaves.

  1. Pingback: The Pen is Mightier… « Ashley Townsend

Leave a Reply

