The Selection by Kiera Cass (The Selection #1)

the selection kiera cass

“The Selection” by Kiera Cass.

5 out of 5 stars!

This has to be one of my favorite books of 2012, and thanks to Christmas and my lovely sisters, I now own this wonderful book!!!!  One thing I will say, though, is that this book is not for everyone. I would classify it as “fluff” (in a good way) compared to the other dystopian books that have been so popular this year; that is the reason why I liked it. All summer long I had been reading gritty, harrowing tales about the future of our world, and I was weary of the same old story. So, when I picked “The Selection” up to read (once again upon the recommendation of my sister, Liz. Shout out!!!) I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Normally I don’t like “fluffy” books, but “The Selection” was just so cute and fun that I didn’t care; I loved and still love this book.

“The Selection”  begins with America Singer telling of the day she received a letter in the mail. At the age of sixteen, every young lady in the country of Illéa is eligible to enter The Selection, where each young lady has the chance to marry the prince of Illéa. Many, many years have gone by without a male heir to the throne, but the wait has finally ended with Prince Maxon’s coming of age. Now all the young ladies are after the handsome prince’s heart. All that is, except America. She has already found her true love, Aspen, and nothing will stand in the way of their happiness, maybe except for one big obstacle: their social status. She is a Five and Aspen is a Six. Though only one rank stands between them, everything is virtually in their way. When the letter of all letters arrives at the Singer home, America has no intentions to pursue the Selection, not even if she could become a One. But Mrs. Singer has other plans in mind, and so does Aspen.  With a heavy heart and by the prodding of everyone she loves (including Aspen), America enters her application for The Selection. Much to her chagrin she is accepted America has no intentions of winning the Selection or to ever fall love again, but she eventually finds herself starting to do both. Will America be able to get over Aspen and all the pain he caused her? Can she find her own life without him? Or is she doomed to remain brokenhearted and friendless in the Selection?

Maxon is the Prince of Illéa, son of the King and Queen. He is destined to rule his father’s country and protect it and its people. Yes, he can do that. The Selection on the other hand is a very different story. Ruling a country seems easier than finding someone to spend the rest of his life with that is until he meets the lovely redhead named America. After a few interesting meetings, he finds the petite, spunky girl to be kind, smart, and very funny. Although he wants more than a friendship to blossom between them, America seems to have other ideas. Could America be the one Maxon is looking for, or is he only fooling himself?

“The Selection” was great! Not only was the cover beautiful, but the story inside was great too! I loved every moment of reading this book, and I think it is in my top five favorite books. Kiera Cass has done an amazing job of creating likeable characters that feel like long-lost friends. I also really admired America; she was smart, funny, and very likeable and she stuck up for herself. She never went behind anyone’s back to be mean,  and I liked that she didn’t let the love interests trample her. So many guy characters are total dirt-bags and get away with murder practically, yet the girl normally goes along with it. She gives up her life and dreams so he can get what he wants. America never did that; she respected herself enough to choose what was right for her but not in a selfish way. I really liked that, and I think it sets a good example for young girls to be a good person, to be kind and a good friend, but to not allow people to run over them and use them. “The Selection” was great and I CANNOT wait until “The Elite” comes out!

the selection

Leave a Reply

