Psalm 19

pretty6

“Come to me all you who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest…”

Matthew 11:28

One of my favorite Psalms is Psalm 19. It is beautiful and descriptive as well as a good guideline. One of the greatest downfalls of mankind is where we place credit. All of the world, everything that dwells in and on it (Ps.24), was made by God and is His.  But we don’t see it that way; we think that this is our life, our’s to do whatever we want with it, which is true to a degree (freewill and the likes). If you don’t agree with me, think about it this way: say I purchased the supplies to make a book. I bought ink, a typewriter, paper, and stuff to bind it to create a book. Who’s is the book? Mine! I bought the stuff with my money, I wrote the darn thing and bound it, it’s mine! So, why is it that God is the only one who can create something but can’t call it His??? We were up for randsome and Christ paid the price even though  He had created us, which means we are doubly His. But the amazing thing is He doesn’t see it as we owe Him something. “For you are saved by grace (faith, too!) and not works…”(Ephesians 2:8-9) God gave us freewill, the will to make our own choices and decisions without Him stopping us. If it were me, I wouldn’t give my creation freewill because that would possibly mean that all the work I did would be for naught. But see, that’s why us humans are not God, we look out for ourselves first (most of the time I know I do), but He instead looks out for us first.

One of the reasons I love Psalm 19 is because of how it portrays God. Yes, He is fierce and powerful, but He is fierce against those who hurt His people, to those who persecute them. He is also loving and kind, faithful, wise and just too. Read Psalm 19 and then think about your life and all that has happened (as much or little as you like), and see if God has ever without cause struck you down and left you; God never abandons a Job (he’s a person in the Bible if you didn’t know. He also has his own book).

Psalm 19

New King James Version

The Perfect Revelation of the Lord

To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David.

1 The heavens declare the glory of God;
And the firmament shows His handiwork.
2 Day unto day utters speech,
And night unto night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech nor language
Where their voice is not heard.
Their line  has gone out through all the earth,
And their words to the end of the world.

In them He has set a tabernacle for the sun,
Which is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,
And rejoices like a strong man to run its race.
Its rising is from one end of heaven,
And its circuit to the other end;
And there is nothing hidden from its heat.

The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul;
The testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple;
The statutes of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart;
The commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes;
The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever;
The judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.
10 More to be desired are they than gold,
Yea, than much fine gold;
Sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.
11 Moreover by them Your servant is warned,
And in keeping them there is great reward.

12 Who can understand his errors?
Cleanse me from secret faults.
13 Keep back Your servant also from presumptuous sins;
Let them not have dominion over me.
Then I shall be blameless,
And I shall be innocent of great transgression.

14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight,
O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

Psalm 19 is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible because not only does it show you a little of who God is, but it also is a code to live by; Psalm 19 shows its readers a way to live life, a good life. You can’t just read this Psalm once because there is so much to it, and you need more than one read to make it stick inside of you. I like in verse three and four where it says,There is no speech nor language where their voice is not heard. Their line  has gone out through all the earth,
and their words to the end of the world.” God speaks to us all differently, but this says that every day God speaks to us, some through the wind, some through the stars, sun, mood, and sky but in a way it is all the same. God cares for us in ways I don’t understand, His love runs so deep I cannot fathom it, but I know it’s there not just for me but for you, too. There is a verse in Jeremiah that says “They forgot their resting place.” We are made to rest in Gods love, in God Himself who is love. We can’t make it on our own, we weren’t built to, and He is the only one who can provide that rest that is more than survival, it’s peace from this world. We may live in the world, experience trials, but our rest is in the One who defeated death and sits on the Throne (John 16:31, Colossians 2:14-15). Asking for His help, His rest is one of His favorite requests. Time with Him is time well spent.

Leave a Reply

