9 Best Couples (Fictional) Ever!

(This is the look I give my sisters when I find a new really good guy character.)sparrow

So, basically this is a post about my 10 favorite fictional couples, and some reasons why I liked them as characters.

1. Wanda (Wanderer) and Ian O’Shea from “The Host” by Stephenie Meyer:

(1) I loved Wanda as a female character. She was so nice and selfless, which is a rarity these days among heroines. She was also smart, and I really liked how she grew as a character.

(2) What wasn’t wonderful about Ian O’Shea? He was smart, kind, funny, and he cared about Wanda so much even though she was different, and could have been a threat to all that he loved. He believed in her despite other peoples’ opinions, and judged for himself whether she was trustworthy or not; because of that he found her to be true, and more human than anyone he knew.

2. America and Maxon from “The Selection”‘ by Kiera Cass:

(1) America was sweet and intelligent. She was a strong character that I thought set a good example for younger girls.

(2) Maxon was unexpectedly sincere and nice. He was smart, respectful, and really cared about America. He wanted America to be happy even if that meant he couldn’t be with her.

3. Rachel and Logan from “Defiance” by C.J. Redwine:

(1) I thought Rachel was an okay female character, but I wasn’t that impressed with her. I understood where she was coming from, so her personality didn’t really bother me all that much, but she was not my favorite.

(2) I loved Logan. He wasn’t just your average good-looking hero, instead he was also super intelligent, courageous, and he really cared about Rachel and her welfare. He had a lot of depth, and is one of my favorite guy characters of all time.

4. Rhine and Linden from “Wither” by Lauren DeStefano:

(1) Rhine wasn’t (isn’t) my favorite heroine. She was a bit annoying, but she had good reason for it, so I understood her attitude. That said, I really don’t care what happens to her in Sever (don’t tell me what happens! I have yet to read it), but I do want Linden to be happy, so if he wants Rhine, he can have her.

(2) Linden, Linden, Linden…a goodhearted man with a gold tooth? Ha! That was unheard of until Wither. Linden was one of those characters you wanted to hate, even despise, but it was impossible to do so. He was raised in a world that brainwashed him into thinking the society he lived in was “normal” and “good”, when really it is super messed up. Poor guy has a psychopath for a father, and he just lost the love of his life to the same “disease” he will die from in four years. Yeah, I’d say he has reasons to be a little (or a lot) messed up; I would be too, but that still doesn’t justify his behavior. Despite all these horrible issues, though, Linden has a great heart. He’s smart, talented, sweet, and trustworthy, and did I mention his heart? Anyway, he was one of the most confusing but lovable characters of my 2012 book reading experience.

5. Lena and Julian from “Pandemonium” by Lauren Oliver:

(1) Lena was okay in this book; I didn’t hate her and I understood where she was coming from, but what I truly loved about this book was her and Julian’s relationship. They are both technically kids, but they’ve seen more than any eighteen year-olds should have. They live in a sick and twisted society that says love is a disease, they both have lost someone they loved deeply (a family member or romantic love, maybe), and they seem like “old-souls”, weighed down by the sorrow of loss. It was interesting reading how Lena once again began to trust someone other than herself. I liked also how much more grown up her and Julian’s relationship was compared to Lena and Alex’s.

(2) Julian was great! I can’t really put into words why I liked him so much, but I think that he was just super intriguing in a way. He reminded me of Linden in how they both grew up in twisted societies, were bred for one reason (one cause that their father’s hearts were set on, whether the cause was good or evil). Both of them also loved someone who was close to them but was taken by force. It seems like they were cut from the same stone, just different sides of it. Yup, I liked Julian a lot in Pandemonium.

6. Hadassah and Marcus from a “Voice in the Wind” by Francine Rivers:

(1) Hadassah was sweet and cute, and I enjoyed her character.

(2) Ummm, I don’t know exactly why I liked him, but I loved Marcus in The Mark of the Lion trilogy. He was a terrible person, but come on, when you’re raised in a sick society like the Roman Empire, you are bound to be messed up. Francine did a great job of making you not hate him despite the fact he wasn’t a very good person, and instead you find yourself rooting for him to become a better person, and to let the good inside him take control. He wanted to be a good person, but just never knew how.

7. Jane Eyre and Mr. Edward Fairfax Rochester from “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte:

(1) I liked Jane because she stood her ground, and didn’t give in when it would have been easier. I liked that she had a mind of her own, but she wasn’t some crazed feminist. It was refreshing.

(2) I know, I know it’s wrong, but for some weird reason I liked Rochester. He’s evil but I liked him. Don’t judge meeeee!!!

8. Maya and Daniel from “The Gathering” by Kelley Armstrong:

(1) She was one of the first female characters that I liked; everyone is all “Katniss Everdeen” crazed, but she irritated me. Maya was refreshing because when she had a problem with something or someone, she went out and did something about it, unlike other characters that sit around and whine like simpering idiots. Please, authors, don’t torture me that way!

(2) Ahhh, Daniel was great! He was wonderful and the epitome of my type: the good-looking best friend that no one ever notices romantically. *Sigh* I want him and Maya to end up together.

9. Elissa and John Murphy from “Vienna Prelude” by Bodie Thoene:

(1) I’m running out of favorite couples, so heeeerrrreee’ssss Jonny! I didn’t like Elissa much at all, but that does not diminish Murphy in my eyes.

(2)  I’ll be honest, I really liked Murphy and I really enjoyed Vienna Prelude. Murphy was a very likable character, and it’s a good historical novel. They may not be the most amazing couple, but it’s all I’ve got!

Thanks for taking time to read this post, and be prepared to have you heart-broken. Most of my favorite characters have yet to finish their trilogies, so I am waiting (painfully) for their story’s to be wrapped up. I have a feeling my heart is going to be broken multiple times.

2 thoughts on “9 Best Couples (Fictional) Ever!

  1. I love America and Maxon too! Whenever they’re around each other, I just get this huge grin on my face because I KNOW something good is about to happen! GGRRR the wait for the Elite is making me go crazy! Good post!

Leave a Reply

