Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #1)

shatter me

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

4 out of 5 stars.

Juliette can’t touch anyone. Well she can, but she wont. If she did, she would hurt someone else. Again…

Juliette is not your average teenager, instead she has the power to hurt, to kill other humans around her with just a touch. It has been 264 days since she has touched anyone and she is glad for it because that means she hasn’t hurt someone for 264 days. But that achievement is shattered when Adam arrives. Juliette never expected to see him. Ever. Stuck together in a four-walled room, a prison that doesn’t feed or care for them, Juliette finds it nice (but scary) to have human interaction. And after time it seems okay, that maybe she can be around someone and not hurt them, that is until she accidentally makes physical contact with Adam. She waits for him to die…but he doesn’t.

Things begin brewing beneath their feet, and with Juliette’s discovery that she can touch one person, another one arises: she can touch two. Why can she touch these two people? Is there a reason for it, or is it just chance? Can Juliette find her purpose in life, use her curse for good or is she destined only to destroy. Will she choose to be a weapon, or a warrior for what is right?

“Shatter Me” was an interesting book; the writing style was a little eccentric (because Juliette is little…out of the ordinary), but after a while you get used to it. It was kind of interesting, the fact that Juliette has never been able to touch anyone without hurting them, and then finally being allowed human interaction. What would you do if you were Juliette? “Shatter Me” was also the first book (ever)where I liked the bad guy. No, I am not one of those girls who likes the bad boys; I actually tend to go for the really nice friend(s) (who never seem to win!). But in “Shatter Me” I was intrigued by Warner, I wanted to know what made him that way, and what makes him tick, so to speak. I mean Adam was fine, but I just didn’t care, but with Warner, I don’t know…he was just so different from other bad guys in books. For him, there must have been something, someone who did something to him for him to choose that course in life. I want to know what that is. I don’t condone his behavior at all; he’s evil. I don’t like that fact, but there is more to him than meets the eye, and I want to know what that is.

Okay, on to other things…I felt that “Shatter Me”, nearing the end, turns into a super hero book. It was still enjoyable but a little corny too. I really liked Adam’s friend, Kenji, who comes in towards the end of the book. He was the comedic relief of this dystopian! I also liked Juliette a lot. I enjoyed her in the fact that she had a good heart. She never wanted to hurt anyone, never even wanted the powers she has. At times I ached for her; she had been rejected by her parents, she never had been accepted by other kids her age, and had been thrown into a prison. She’s only seventeen! I couldn’t imagine that, which made it interesting to think about who you would be if you were in the same situation. Would you take hold of power and use your abilities for your own advantage, or would you try to use them to help others, to free them? Overall I really liked “Shatter Me”, and I now own it. So, there you have it!

P.S. Someone posted this picture on goodreads.com. Apparently this is how they imagined what Warner would look like.

not hatin'

I’m not hatin’…

Leave a Reply

