Favorite/Lucky Numbers

Here are some of my favorite quotes from some of my favorite books. Enjoy!

wandering“What was it that made this human love so much more desirable to me than the love of my own kind? Was it because it was exclusive and capricious? The souls offered love and acceptance to all. Did I crave a greater challenge?…Or was it simply better somehow? Because these humans hate with so much fury, was the other end of the spectrum that they could love with more heart and zeal and fire?” –Wanda from “The Host”

“I love you,” I whispered.
“Don’t say that like you’re saying goodbye.”–Ian O’Shea and Wanda from “the Host”

“Fine,’ Jared snapped. ‘But if you try cuddling up to me tonight… so help me, O’Shea.”
Ian chuckled. ‘ Not to sound overly arrogant, but to be perfectly honest, Jared, were I so inclined, I think I could do better.”–Jared and Ian O’Shea from “The Host”

“Her name is Wanda, not “it”. You will not touch her. Any mark you leave on her, I will double on your worthless hide.”–Ian O’Shea from “The Host”

“This place was truly the highest and the lowest of all worlds – the most beautiful senses, the most exquisite emotions… the most malevolent desires, the darkest deeds. Perhaps it was meant to be so. Perhaps without the lows, the highs could not be reached.”–Wanda from “The Host”

“I’d loved in so many bodies, but never one I loved like this. Never one that I craved in this way. Of course, this would be the one I’d have to give up.
The irony made me laugh, and I concentrated on the feel of the air that popped in little bubbles from my chest and up through my throat. Laughter was like a fresh breeze – it cleaned its way through the body, making everything feel good. Did other species have such a simple healer? I couldn’t remember one.”–Wanda from “The Host”

the selection kiera cass

“I hit your thigh!”
“Oh, please. A man doesn’t need that long to recover from a knee to the thigh”–Maxon and America from “The Selection”

“You’re too beautiful for your own good. Once you leave, we’ll have to send some of the guards with you. You’ll never survive on your own, poor thing.”–Maxon from “The Selection”

“If this were a simpler matter, I’d have eliminated everyone else by now.”–Maxon from “The Selection”

“He reached up and tugged his ear. And I did the same.”–Maxon and America from “The Selection”

“You don’t do that. You don’t just leave your family. Sticking together… it’s the only way to survive.”–From “The Selection”

“It’s always the fear of looking stupid that stops you from being awesome.”–America from “The Selection”

defiance by c.j. redwine

“It’s probably my job to tell you life isn’t fair, but I figure you already know that. So instead, I’ll tell you that hope is precious, and you’re right not to give up.”–from “Defiance”

“Silent acquiescence in the face of tyranny is no better than outright agreement.”–from “Defiance”

“No matter what has happened. No matter what you’ve done. No matter what you will do. I will always love you. I swear it.”–Logan from “Defiance”

“She stares at me, a tiny smile flitting across her lips, and the affection on her face makes me feel like the richest man in the world.”–Logan from “Defiance”

jane eyre by charlotte bronte

“Do you think I am an automation? — a machine without feelings? and can bear to have my morsel of bread snatched from my lips, and my drop of living water dashed from my cup? Do you think, because I am poor, obscure, plain, and little, I am soulless and heartless? You think wrong! — I have as much soul as you — and full as much heart! And if God had gifted me with some beauty and much wealth, I should have made it as hard for you to leave me, as it is now for me to leave you. I am not talking to you now through the medium of custom, conventionalities, nor even of mortal flesh: it is my spirit that addresses your spirit; just as if both had passed through the grave, and we stood at God’s feet, equal — as we are!”–Jane from “Jane Eyre”

“I have for the first time found what I can truly love–I have found you. You are my sympathy–my better self–my good angel–I am bound to you with a strong attachment. I think you good, gifted, lovely: a fervent, a solemn passion is conceived in my heart; it leans to you, draws you to my centre and spring of life, wrap my existence about you–and, kindling in pure, powerful flame, fuses you and me in one.”–Mr.Rochester from “Jane Eyre”

“I can live alone, if self-respect, and circumstances require me so to do. I need not sell my soul to buy bliss. I have an inward treasure born with me, which can keep me alive if all extraneous delights should be withheld, or offered only at a price I cannot afford to give.”–Jane from “Jane Eyre”

“I do not think, sir, you have any right to command me, merely because you are older than I, or because you have seen more of the world than I have; your claim to superiority depends on the use you have made of your time and experience.”–Jane from “Jane Eyre”

“I had not intended to love him; the reader knows I had wrought hard to extirpate from my soul the germs of love there detected; and now, at the first renewed view of him, they spontaneously revived, great and strong! He made me love him without looking at me.”–Jane from “Jane Eyre

“Every atom of your flesh is as dear to me as my own: in pain and sickness it would still be dear.”–From “Jane Eyre”

“Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity or registering wrongs.”–Jane from “Jane Eyre”

“We know that God is everywhere; but certainly we feel His presence most when His works are on the grandest scale spread before us; and it is in the unclouded night-sky, where His worlds wheel their silent course, that we read clearest His infinitude, His omnipotence, His omnipresence.”–From “Jane Eyre”

“It is in vain to say human beings ought to be satisfied with tranquillity: they must have action; and they will make it if they cannot find it. Millions are condemned to a stiller doom than mine, and millions are in silent revolt against their lot. Nobody knows how many rebellions besides political rebellions ferment in the masses of life which people earth. Women are supposed to be very calm generally: but women feel just as men feel; they need exercise for their faculties, and a field for their efforts, as much as their brothers do; they suffer from too rigid a restraint, to absolute a stagnation, precisely as men would suffer; and it is narrow-minded in their more privileged fellow-creatures to say that they ought to confine themselves to making puddings and knitting stockings, to playing on the piano and embroidering bags. It is thoughtless to condemn them, or laugh at them, if they seek to do more or learn more than custom has pronounced necessary for their sex.”–Jane from “Jane Eyre”

 

shatter me

“All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”–Juliette from “Shatter Me”

“I always wonder about raindrops.

“I wonder about how they’re always falling down, tripping over their own feet, breaking their legs and forgetting their parachutes as they tumble right out of the sky toward an uncertain end. It’s like someone is emptying their pockets over the earth and doesn’t seem to care where the contents fall, doesn’t seem to care that the raindrops burst when they hit the ground, that they shatter when they fall to the floor, that people curse the days the drops dare to tap on their doors.

I am a raindrop.”–Juliette from “Shatter Me”

“Raindrops are my only reminder that clouds have a heartbeat. That I have one, too.”–Juliette from “Shatter Me”

“The moon is a loyal companion.
It never leaves. It’s always there, watching, steadfast, knowing us in our light and dark moments, changing forever just as we do. Every day it’s a different version of itself. Sometimes weak and wan, sometimes strong and full of light. The moon understands what it means to be human.
Uncertain. Alone. Cratered by imperfections.”–Juliette from “Shatter Me”

“Someone picked up the sun and pinned it to the sky again, but every day it hangs a little lower than the day before. It’s like a negligent parent who only knows one half of who you are. It never sees how its absence changes people. How different we are in the dark.”–Juliette from “Shatter Me”

unravel me

“Books are easily destroyed. But words will live as long as people can remember them.”–from “Unravel Me”

“Hell is empty and all the devils are here.”–From “Unravel Me” (Shakespeare)

“Why not?” I’m pleading now.
“Because if I lower my voice, I won’t be able to hear myself speak. And that,” he says, “is my favorite part.”–Kenji and Juliette from “Unravel Me”

“Hope.
It’s like a drop of honey, a field of tulips blooming in the springtime. It’s a fresh rain, a whispered promise, a cloudless sky, the perfect punctuation mark at the end of a sentence. And it’s the only thing in the world keeping me afloat.”

“On the darkest days you have to search for a spot of brightness, on the coldest days you have to seek out a spot of warmth; on the bleakest days you have to keep your eyes onward and upward and on the saddest days you have to leave them open to let them cry. To then let them dry. To give them a chance to wash out the pain in order to see fresh and clear once again.”

“Loneliness is a strange sort of thing.
It creeps on you, quiet and still, sits by your side in the dark, strokes by your hair as you sleep. It wraps itself around your bones, squeezing so tight you almost can’t breathe. It leaves lies in your heart, lies next to you at night, leaches the light out of every corner. It’s a constant companion, clasping your hand only to yank you down when you’re struggling to stand up. “–Juliette from “Unravel Me”

One thought on “Favorite/Lucky Numbers

Leave a Reply

