The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

the statistical probability of love at first sight jennifer e smith

“The Statistical Probability of  Love at First Sight” by Jennifer E. Smith.

4 out of 5 stars.

Seconds. Minutes. Hours. One choice. All of these things can change your future and the future of your world. Every moment matters and Hadley Sullivan comes to know this all too well in “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight.” A different choice here and there would have meant that she would now be on her way to England, about to witness one of the worst things to ever happen in the history of her life: her father’s wedding.

To some a wedding would seem to be a small (or large), joyous occasion, but to Hadley it means the world to her, at least the end of the world as she knows it. You see, it has been touch and go between Hadley and her father for quite a while now, especially since they were so close; the whole divorce thing definitely messed up her previously happy family. One summer trip to England was all it took to tip Hadley’s world upside down, and now she is going to be forced to witness her own father marrying a woman whom she had never even met! Ha! That will be just grand.

To top it all off (because of a few seemingly inconsequential choices) Hadley has missed her flight by mere minutes (four to be exact), and has to wait around the airport for another flight, which doesn’t seem all that appealing to Hadley. Three hours can seem like a few seconds to some people and like an eternity to others. Hadley would peg herself as belonging to the latter group, and she dreads the moment she will have to step from the airplane onto British soil. For Hadley it will mean the beginning of the end for the only family unit she has ever known to be solely her’s, the last proverbial nail in the coffin so to speak. But little does Hadley know that despite this bitter ending that there might just be an even sweeter beginning that awaits her arrival.

yesss

“The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” by Jennifer E. Smith was…cute, sweet, funny, endearing, and heartwarming. My older sister (once again) recommended this book to me and it did not disappoint. I am not a huge fan of chick lit, but because my sister and I have pretty similar taste in books I gave it a shot, and look at me now! “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” was a very enjoyable read and I was really surprised that I didn’t get bored with it; half of the novel is in a plane of all places, and then Hadley goes on to her dad’s wedding. You think it would be boring but I never was while reading this book! This wonderful read totally changed my attitude towards chick lit. I’m still not a huge follower of chick lit, but I am now much more willing to at least try those kinds of books out, and I won’t write them off just because of the genre they are placed in. And sometimes it can really pay off.

“The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” deals with quite a few very difficult topics, but I think they were all handled fairly well. I had fun with this book and I was even a little teary-eyed at times, which says a lot about a book in my opinion. I also really liked the guy, Oliver, in it, and despite the fact that “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” spans over only twenty-four hours, I felt connected to his character and thought he was a cute, nice person to read about.

Despite the fact that the characters got really attached to each other so quickly, I thought Hadley’s and Oliver’s relationship was sweet, and I think they were cute together. I didn’t ever feel like it was a forced romance. “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” is a great read whether you are at a park, on a plane, or you just need something nice and fluffy to read. No muss, no fuss with this one. It is a quick, enjoyable read for young adults (it is supper clean and there is no language, which I totally respect). A great read! Loved it!

 

Yay

Leave a Reply

