United We Spy by Ally Carter (Gallagher Girls #6)

united we spy ally carter

“United We Spy” by Ally Carter

5 out of 5 stars.

Cammie, Zach and their friends return one last time in “United We Spy” for an explosive and entertaining conclusion to the Gallagher Girls series. “United We Spy” is a wonderful and thrilling end to a fabulous series.

Cameron Morgan is a senior. A real senior at the Gallagher Academy. That means big choices, and big choices mean that she could make some big mistakes. She has the brains and the grades to get into practically any university she wants. But that’s the problem: Cammie Morgan, for the first time in her life, doesn’t know what she wants. But Cam soon finds out that she will have to decide what she wants to do quickly or else her current circumstances will make that choice for her, whether she likes it or not. One thing Cammie does know is that she wants to be the one to take down the Circle, and she won’t stop until every last leader is found and taken into custody. The Circle needs to pay for what they have done, and Cam is more than willing to deliver them their sentence. In person.

The Circle of Cavan has been breathing down Cammie’s neck for her entire senior year. Now that she remembers the “list”, Cam and her crew are able to track down the Circle’s leaders one by one. Things never go as smoothly as we plan, though, and Cammie’s first confrontation with a Circle leader since last semester doesn’t go as well as she had hoped. Basically, as Bex and her were questioning and attempting to persuaded one of the Inner Circle’s descendents, he got snipered. Needless to say, he didn’t make it and Bex and Cam were quite close to ending up like him. So close, but still so far. But Cammie and Bex don’t come away completely empty-handed in their encounter. Before he had been shot, the Circle member had said that something big was going to go down, was beginning to happen at that very moment, and that he was completely terrified of it. And Cammie dearly wishes she knew what it was.

Soon, though, Cam and her friends all find themselves caught up in the middle of a war that has been storming since long before they were born, and it only a matter of time before they, and the whole world, is swallowed whole by it. This band of misfits must figure out how to save their family and friends, and discover what treacherous thing the Circle of Cavan has planned before the whole world is plummeted into complete and utter chaos. But Cammie, Zach, Liz, Bex, and Macey, the whole Gallagher Academy, are fighters and they won’t give up until the Circle is destroyed and the world is once again safe from Cavan’s original and sinister plans.

My sister and I have been reading through the Gallagher Girls series recently, and it was taking much too long for “United We Spy” to come into the library. So, instead of waiting, we decided to buy ourselves each a copy, because, well, we wanted it RIGHT now.

need it

After waiting a few days for it to come in the mail, we were a little impatient (at least I was), and then Columbus day came, and that means no mail. *Sighs*. Then, it happened! The nice mail lady walked up to our porch bearing IT. My reaction (once she was safely back in her mail truck) was as follows.

yaaaaaay

So, without further adieu here is my review.

“United We Spy” by Ally Carter is, sadly, the last book in the Gallagher Girls series. It is a bittersweet thing when a beloved series or trilogy ends. You are so happy to see it all get wrapped up but then you realize that it’s really over, and the wonderful ride you’ve had with these characters is about to come to a good, yet sad end; you don’t want the pages to run out, but they eventually do. The end is so sweet but a little bitter too, and that was how “United We Spy” was.

“United We Spy” was a great end to a fantastic series. Ally Carter just gets better and better as her series go on and it was so much fun to see all of these characters grow up and fit into their own two “shoes”, if you know what I mean. Cammie was great as usual. She was a strong, smart, fun, and a realistic eighteen-year-old girl (who just so happens to be a spy and fictional, but you get my point) in “United We Spy.” I think that Ally Carter wrapped up this character really well, and I had fun experiencing her story.

I think despite how much I liked Cammie, my two favorite characters in this book were Liz and Zach. Liz is the most adorable thing ever and I just love her! She was the awesome nerdy girl who saves the day. She may not be great out doing field work, but she helps save everyone (and the day) in her own brainy, technological way. Ally added a lot of depth to this character in this book (as well as in “Out of Sight, Out of Time”), and you found out that Liz has some demons of her own to deal with, and it takes everything in her to fight them and make things right. I was rooting for Liz the whole time.

Zach, Zach, Zach. He was a very interesting character in “United We Spy.” As I stated in my “Only the Good Spy Young” and “Out of Sight, Out of Time” reviews, Zachary Goode has a lot of secrets. You know he is a good guy, but there are still a lot of things that remain unsaid in those books, as well as this one. I was a bit bummed about that, but the way Ally Carter did it made me okay with the undisclosed secrets. He and Cammie will work it out in their own time, and they’ll do it together this time. There was one thing, though, that Ally Carter did put in “United We Spy” that I really liked, but didn’t expect to happen at all. Call me stupid, but that had not entered my mind.

tangled 2

The way the secret involved Zach made me understand him more, and so I liked that a lot. I liked him a lot. Overall, I very much enjoyed Zach’s character and I am kind of sad to see him, as well as the other characters, go. I wish he didn’t have to go!

“United We Spy” was a really well written and fast paced book. Ally’s characters were so fun and enjoyable to read about, and I especially liked Preston; I wish I would have been able to see more of him and Macey together. Ally Carter wrapped everything up very nicely but not quite with a pink bow, and that made me respect her a lot as an author. I mean it ended happy and good, but it wasn’t perfect and that was good for the age of the characters and the story she had written. This is a great read for Carter fans or anyone who just wants a fun, entertaining read! Loved it, and I am looking forward to future works of her’s.

thor loki 2

2 thoughts on “United We Spy by Ally Carter (Gallagher Girls #6)

  1. ZACH GOODE OMFG YES!
    Someone else who loves this series as much as I do! I’ve been reading it since grade five (when the first novel came out) and I have been impatiently waiting for this one too! I’m glad to hear that everyone works out and that the secret avec Zach is worth it. Cammie has always been a strong character so I’m not surprised that she still is in this last one! Anyway, before I start writing an essay long comment, great review! I’ll be reading this one very soon!

    • Oh, I am sooooo happy you like this series!!!!! My sister and I got into it just a couple of months ago, and we are very grateful we didn’t have to wait the six or seven years it took for Ally to finish it. It would have been well worth the wait, but I am happy I didn’t have to!
      Thanks for the comment!
      P.S. I love your blog and goodreads. So many books to choose from…

Leave a Reply

