Fangirl Friday #2…Bridge of Snow by Marie Rutkoski (The Winner’s Trilogy #0.5)

bridge if sow marie rutkoski book

“Bridge of Snow” by Marie Rutkoski

5 out of 5 stars.

Goodreads Summary:

Ignore the stirrings of war. Let the carriage to a royal ball wait. There is a story to be told: of a starless night, a mother and her sick son, and a mortal who falls in love with the snow god, and will do anything to have her…

Marie Rutkoski completely captured my attention and my heart with this prequel to “The Winner’s Curse”! “Bridge of Snow” was elegantly mournful, and I absolutely loved reading this novella because of how it gave me a glimpse of Arin as a child and let me see his bond with his family firsthand. “Bridge of Snow” made my heart ache even more for the older Arin I knew from “The Winner’s Curse,” and this novella made me want to go back and read the first book again!

One of the things that really stuck out to me while reading this prequel was something Marie Rutkoski had written in  her introduction to “Bridge of Snow” that was created for the Macmillian novella collection called “Kisses and Curses.” After telling her readers a little bit about why she decided to write “Bridge of Snow,” Marie went on to describe Arin as a character who was “intelligent, sensitive…and destined for loss.”

the hobbit aidan turner 79d510aa4d5a93204a2d28dcdffd1e29

This novella was only about thirty pages long, but I felt like it gave me a hint as to what might happen at the of “The Winner’s Kiss,” and to tell you the truth, this quote and the story behind “Bridge of Snow” makes me a little scared of what Marie might do in her last book. “The Winner’s Trilogy” is the first series that I’ve read by Marie Rutkoski, so I honestly don’t know what kind of writer she is and the kind of agony her third book could wreak upon my heart. Marie Rutkoski’s is an amazing storyteller and I’m looking forward to “The Winner’s Kiss,” but I’m also frightened by the fact that I don’t know where she will take her final installment of this stunning trilogy. She’s a loose cannon and a lover of Shakespeare, and that both terrifies and excites me. I fear a terrible end for Arin and Kestrel.

Reading this novella was as enlightening as it was frightening. I am anxious to read “The Winner’s Kiss” so I can find out whether Marie Rutkoski wrote Arin and Kestrel a happy ending, or if their fate was like that of the desperate human boy and the girl made of snow…

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to comment and tell me what you think about “Bridge of Snow.” Happy Fangirl Friday, everyone, and thanks so much for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

