Fangirl Friday #16…There Were Zombies Involved

Wow, this week was definitely an eventful time for everyone I know, including myself. *sighs* There were definitely some good happenings during the week, but it was mostly tiring and stressful, and I am kind of wondering, since I am only going into my third week of the Spring semester, how I am going to keep going? Well, fellow bloggers and book-lovers, this is how one survives (A.K.A. staying awake when all you want to do is take a nap) and keeps trudging forward on a Thursday night after school: they go see “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.”

I am not traditionally the kind of individual who likes to go out at night after being at school to see a movie, and I instead lean more towards a porcelain teacup full of a black tea and cozying up with a book or TV show. But I guess there’s a first for everything, and “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” was well worth breaking the traditional, and predictable, nightly plans of this bookworm.

Gosh, “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” was so friggin’ fabulous! Mr. Bingley is my favorite male character in “Pride and Prejudice,” so to have Douglas Booth play him just made my world, as well as my sisters’.

3f6d23f75a946f76b25089def2d0c737

I probably drove them nuts during the movie, because I kept giggling like an idiot and nudging their shoulders whenever he came on screen. In the light of day, I am trying to justify those giggles as one of the side affects of being uncharacteristically alert and giddy after 7:3o PM, but Douglas was pretty amazing, so I guess I just have to admit defeat because, yes, I giggled over a boy. Oh, gosh, and then there was Matt Smith playing Mr. Collins…

I try to be quiet in theaters so that others can also enjoy the film on screen, but every time Matt Smith came into a scene in “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies,” I could not stop laughing because his lines and mannerisms were FABULOUS! Again, it could have been the hour of night that was making me delirious and/or slaphappy, but I feel like his scenes were some of the best in the movie, and his portrayal of Mr. Collins was beyond hilarious and entertaining!

af0ef770c67d57b77ee9d4f4d794aa9c

For him alone, I would see this movie again, but since there was also Douglas Booth in it, well, how can I resist repeating the events of last night sometime soon?

Now that I have sung, or written, as is the case, the praises of Matt Smith and Douglas Booth, I do have to commend the lovely Lily James and Sam Riley for their fabulous portrayals of Lizzy and Mr. Darcey.

7b415deade4547f2535c5aa64618e199

The chemistry and mental sparring between Darcey and Lizzy was fabulous as always, and the situational comedy that only a zombie apocalypse can bring, lent a certain kind of dark humor to these characters’ relationship that made it even better than the original. Some Janeites might hate me writing for this, but I kind of liked Darcey and Lizzy better in this movie because their relationship was less melodramatic and more humorous, and I do dearly love to laugh…

“Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” was a fabulous film, and I think that it was very much like “The 5th Wave” in the fact that I enjoyed the movie so much that I do not think the book could be quite as good. I loved what the film kept concerning all of the characters and what it added to them; everyone felt like themselves, just with a little extra something thrown into their characters to make them pair well with the concept of zombies taking over the world. 😉 I obviously loved Bingley, and Jane was also great, and I adored Lily James’ portrayal of Lizzy. Sam Riley also did a great job with the character of Darcey, and he made me actually like the character (sorry, I am more of a Wentworth, Knightly, and Bingley fan!). If you are looking for an extremely witting, fabulously acted, and well-made film that is constantly engaging, then “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” is the perfect movie for you to indulge in this weekend. Just beware of the zombies in the woods and in the tea parlor…

a908bf05ff4d142017eb09e527d8c1bc

Leave a Reply

